Summer’s Bounty

August 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm | Posted in Recipes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

With Summer in full swing, it has been so wonderful to enjoy fresh fruits and veggies. For the first time, I have been participating in a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) vegetable pickup. I prepaid for fresh fruits and vegetables from a local farm for the whole season. I thought it would be a nice way to support farmers in my area. It has been a great experience, trying new vegetables and recipes. Sometimes I have an overabundance, and I share these with my friends, coworkers and neighbors. If you ever get the opportunity to try a CSA, I highly recommend it.

veggies

A typical "share" of vegetables - some unusual ones you see here include Kohlrabi (like a cabbage) and Swiss Chard.

The vegetables I receive are organic, but even so need to be cleaned and prepared properly. I use a Fuller Vegetable Brush to clean my vegetables before eating. The great thing about this brush is that it also does double duty, as you can use it as a dish cleaning brush.

Fuller Veggie Brush

Veggie Brush - a must have for cleaning your veggies

I hope you are also enjoying the homegrown foods of the season in your home town. I will leave you with a link to a great recipe for zucchini cornbread.

stirfry

Stir Fry Supreme - another idea for a quick, easy, healthy meal

Here’s to healthy eating, cooking and cleaning!

Connie

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

